Friday, March 9, 2012 ~ A room with a view

hospital discharge notes pic

A week ago I was making breakfast and packing my lunch and I was overcome with a horrific stomach ache. After an hour feeling as if I’d been shot in the abdomen I called my friend M and she drove me to the hospital.  Six hours later   wheeled out of surgery into a room on the fifteenth floor oncology unit. My room was lovely, private north-western facing with a view of the city and park. I was one sick puppy again, but healing through the magic of surgery. They checked my vitals once an hour until late into the afternoon the next day.

Diagnosis: small bowel obstruction treated by exploratory laparotomy for lysis of adhesion. This medical term is for the scar tissue blockage of my bowel and prevent my blueberries and walnuts from breakfast to pass through. There was a backup on the freeway of my intestines. Undeniably painful.  This was my  second bout in as many years only this time they had to go inside and untangle things. So, no heavy lifting or hot yoga for now, five weeks. Believe me I am counting.

Apparently scar tissue is not an unusual side effect of abdominal surgery. Ugh! Talk about putting a cramp in my side. I spent four days with the lovely RNs and PCTs of Virginia Mason. They provided wonderful nurturing care. And i was very fortunate to have my favorite friends and loved one visit me.

Leave a comment